About Us

Established as a technical university in 2002, Universiti Malaysia Pahang (UMP) offers a variety of engineering- and technology-based technical programmes, including high-level Technical and Vocational Education and Training (TVET).
Ranked as one of the best in Research and Innovation within the classifications of Malaysia Technical University Network (MTUN) and Non-Research University (Non RU), UMP is steadfastly committed to innovating and developing unique academic programmes through strategic international collaborations. A milestone of such innovation is UMP’s world class dual-degree engineering programme offered in collaboration with Germany’s Karlsruhe University of Applied Sciences (HsKA) – now seen as the benchmark for other public institutions of higher learning in Malaysia. In the field of research, UMP collaborates with local industries to focus on industry-related applications. Such research collaboration enriches the teaching and learning modules at the university, while simultaneously promotes commercialization of research output and products.


UMP Campus in Pekan

UMP main campus in Pekan began its operation in 27 July 2009. When construction is fully completed, the Pekan campus can accommodate up to a total of 10,000 students and 2,000 staffs.

At present, the campus is the home for four engineering faculties and one centre, namely the Faculty of Electrical and Electronics Engineering, Faculty of Mechanical and Automotive Engineering Technology, Faculty of Manufacturing and Mechatronic Engineering Technology, Faculty of Computing and Centre for Modern Languages.


UMP Campus in Gambang

Situated in Gambang, near the East Coast Expressway, UMP is just 30km drive from Kuantan, with an area of 126 acres and can accommodate up to 5,000 students. UMP is strategically located in the East Coast Industrial Belt of Peninsular Malaysia - which hosts a large number of multinational corporations (MNCS) in the chemical, petrochemical, manufacturing, automotive and biotechnology industries. UMP students get extensive exposure to the latest development in the fields of engineering and technology.

At present, this campus is the home for four faculties, one institute and two centres namely Faculty of Civil Engineering Technology, Faculty of Chemical and Process Engineering Technology, Faculty of Science and Industrial Technology, Faculty of Industrial Management, Institute of Postgraduates Studies, Centre for Mathematical Sciences and Centre for Human Sciences.